Unfortunately, Kiss Sixth Sense really wasn’t very good, so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. In fact, it was the worst drama I’ve seen in years. As I said yesterday, the female lead was unlikeable, and to be honest the only thing that kept me watching was a paper-thin mystery plot. I had already worked out who the culprit was as soon as it became clear that there was one, but I wanted to know what had happened because the first three-quarters of the drama gave very little away in terms of storyline and how they fitted into it.
All we knew was that the female and male lead had known each
other as children and were involved in an accident (she had no memory of either
him or the incident), which had given them both special abilities: she was able
to see their future whenever she kissed someone (yep, really π),
and he had hyper-sensitive hearing, sight and touch – being kissed by anyone
other than the female lead made him collapse (of course).
I didn’t have too much problem with the premise of the central
mystery, flimsy as it was. It was a rubbish plot device to give the
couple their special abilities, which had seemingly ruined both their lives
ever since. The problems really started for me when the pair finally decided
to start dating properly but wanted to keep it a secret from their work
colleagues, so resorted to stupid codes and suchlike, in order to arrange to get a cup
of tea together or whatever. It was silly and immature and would have been embarrassing enough if it had been teenagers doing it, but these actors are not young by any
means.
Worse still, once the mystery was resolved and they returned
to ‘normal’, the unlikeable, untrusting, female lead became even more of a
harridan than she was before. She and her now extremely prickly and downright
rude boyfriend did nothing but argue and fight because they were apparently
unable to sustain a relationship without knowing what the other was thinking or
feeling all the time. For almost a whole episode they did nothing but scream at
each other and broke up over and over again (while never actually leaving each
other) – the whole thing was completely pointless and pathetic and could easily
have been removed from the plot without losing anything from the story. It would have
reduced the runtime too, which would have been no bad thing.
As you can tell, I didn’t give it a very high rating and it’s
somewhere in the 300s in my favourites list – firmly in the section of dramas never
to be watched again.
Today, I’ve been watching Formula E racing. It’s the second and third race in Diriyah (Saudi Arabia) this weekend. The first
race was much better for the Jaguar team than the last one, as both
their drivers (Sam Bird and Mitch Evans) got through to the semi-finals in the
qualifying. Although both were ultimately knocked out, Sebastian Buemi (Envision)
got pole position, and their cars use Jaguar technology too (so we count
them as ours).
Mitch didn’t have a great race as he appeared to have
trouble with his brakes, so only finished tenth, although he still got points.
Sam finished the race in third position (behind Pascal Wehrlein and Jake Dennis) and even led the
race for a while. Hopefully, it will help boost them to perform even better in
tomorrow’s race. π€
I had a salmon salad again for dinner (you’ll see that I
tend to eat the same food all the time, not because I’m not adventurous, but
because I can’t be bothered to cook or devise menus). While eating, I settled
down to a bit of sci-fi; a short series from last year called Yonder,
which I thoroughly enjoyed because it made me think. I’m now going to start another
drama that I meant to watch as it aired, but there were too many things on at
the same time. It’s a crime thriller called Blind, starring Ok Taec Yeon (from 2PM). I don’t know
too much about it as a review said the less you know going in the better it is.
There are no birthdays today, but Tomorrow x Together(TXT) have released a new mini-album, The Name Chapter: TEMPTATION, which I haven’t
had a chance to listen to yet. I’ll probably get to it tomorrow morning. I did watch the MV for the lead track, Sugar
Rush Ride, though, and it’s excellent, and from what I’ve seen in Twitter
posts, everyone’s loving the album too.
No comments:
Post a Comment