Wednesday, February 15, 2023

15 February 2023 - Ah well, I tried

Actually, I didn't really try, at least not very hard. 

You will recall that the last time I posted a proper-length blog, I mentioned that I had tried to get Hogwarts Legacy running. It was all to no avail as my old PC was woefully under spec, so I had to buy a new one to play the game (tbh, I had needed a new one for a while anyway). I spent quite a long time looking at various PCs before coming to the conclusion that a gaming one, while expensive, would probably be the best option in the long run, and would be good for working on those spreadsheets, too (no more sulking PC when I try to open 2 at a time). Then, as luck would have it, Amazon had one at a bargain price (and I really mean a bargain price) - I honestly couldn't resist.

I didn't blog on Thursday because I was sorting out all the crap I'd accumulated on my old PC  - it's astonishing just how many files etc. I had on there - and transferring them to an external HDD for safekeeping. It took all evening to do, so I didn't have time for anything else (including blogging - it seemed pointless to just say I had nothing to say again).

Friday evening was spent putting the computer together and getting everything re-set up, which always takes longer and is more frustrating than I remember. Saturday, I went to the hairdressers to get pretty hair, and then couldn't be bothered to do much, so I finished Song of the Moon, which turned out to be an emotional ride (with 2 endings!) and Poong, the Joseon Psychiatrist 2, which I enjoyed far more than the first series. I hope there won't be a third as they tied it up perfectly and it doesn't need anything else. 

I then watched the Chinese horror film Incantation, which had been recommended in several places. It was fine, but a bit tame for me. I then moved on to Three Body, as almost the whole series had dropped, but stopped after 1 episode as I really wasn't in the mood. It's now complete (and Avenue X gave it her top rating) so I shall pick it up again shortly. 

Finally, and I have no idea why, I found myself watching a Japanese film (honestly, why do I do it to myself?) called No Call No Life. I have no idea what it was about or even why I chose it - something to do with some girl getting phone calls from the past or something like that - but eventually, I got totally lost, so I gave up. I can't imagine I'd ever go back to it. Obviously, I completely forgot to blog and by the time I remembered it was way past midnight.

Sunday, I was in a weird mood but decided I would finally start playing Hogwarts Legacy. As anticipated I was absolutely rubbish 😂. First, I had to pick my character, which could actually have taken several hours as someone who prevaricates over everything, so choosing every aspect of my appearance was always going to be a nightmare, but I thought I did well at sorting it in about 30 minutes. 

At last, I was ready to really start playing the game.

It starts with meeting Professor Fig, who is going to transport you to Hogwarts. However, en route you get attacked and end up near some ruins, which you obviously go to investigate as a pre-game warm-up. The first problem I had was that I couldn't get my character to move properly. In the pre-release days, I watched various gamers playing the game on Twitch to see if I could pick up a few hints and tips, and every time they were running about the castle or Hogsmeade, happily running up and down stairs with no problem whatsoever. 

Alas, this wasn't me. Even when I managed to get the character to go in the right direction they ended up walking into walls and stuff 🤦‍♀️ and most of the time I couldn't even get them to move more than a single step at a time. I know it probably just takes practice but it was more than a little off-putting.

Then there were the ruins themselves. Professor Fig said to investigate, but I wasn't sure whether I was supposed to be breaking all the pots and things lying around, or if I was looking for something specific. After another 20-odd minutes of gameplay, I had got nowhere . . . and then I tried to log out.

At first, I was unable to work out how to do it - none of this comes with instructions (that I could see anyway) and the Twitch players all seem to use a console and controller rather than a PC, keyboard and mouse. When I did eventually find the save area, it told me that manual saves were unavailable but that autosave was working. Remembering that earlier in the game it had come up with a message telling me not to leave while the autosave icon was showing otherwise it wouldn't save, I didn't actually recall seeing the icon at all, although that could have been because I was stressing about walking and not finding anything.

In the end, I managed to quit the game but got a warning to say that nothing had been saved for the last 23 minutes 🙄. When I went back in to check everything was okay, I discovered I was back where I started, just after the attack on the coach at the beginning of the game. I quit once more and haven't been back in since.

Feeling disgruntled at the waste of time, I decided to watch some TV, not even thinking about the blog, I'll be honest. I caught up with the latest episodes of Kokdu: Season of Deity, which is beginning to grow on me finally, caught up with Ben on Twitch where we (Quincy also came along for the ride) watched the second episode of Boys' Planet - I still have no idea wtf is going on or how we're supposed to judge the contestants when we don't see most of them.

I also got pissed off with the judges for unfairly criticising Hui (probably more MNET and evil editing, of which there has been a LOT, even in the first 2 episodes) and especially Cube for putting him in that position in the first place, but not as annoyed as Ben - although I totally agree with him.

Then, I settled down to finally watch a Chinese time-travelling drama from 2019. called Someday or One Day, mainly because I couldn't be bothered to watch anything I was already watching, as there has been a real dearth of new K-dramas (of interest to me) recently, and because the series is being remade as a K-drama and should be out shortly, so I wanted to see the original before I watch that.  

Yesterday saw me back at work, battling a headache in the ultra-bright sunshine - a nightmare when I had to drive as it was strobing, which really doesn't help. 

Yes, I went outside again (twice in one week!) because we went to see The Rose at O2 Forum. I had a wonderful evening, despite the headache, which is still brewing today, although I'm not sure Quincy was so impressed. I thought she would love them as they are a proper band, not a boy band, and they play the sort of soft rock that she always listens to on Smooth Radio and Kiss FM, but I think it just took her a little while to warm up to them as she hadn't listened to the playlist I created for her (she never does). I think the band are amazing and their leader, lead vocalist and guitarist, Woosung, released one of my favourite albums of last year, Moth. He has such an interesting and distinctive voice and they sang so well live, it was mesmerising. And yes, Quincy, we will be seeing them next year 😉.

The Rose 

That brings me to today, where once again I was back at work, battling with a headache and bright sunshine . . . and losing.

I'm going to end it here and head off to watch this week's episodes of Brain Works, which is getting more ridiculous by the week but I quite like it. Then, I ought to watch Unchained Love, as I really have been neglecting that. Maybe I should just admit that I've dropped it. Nope, I will give it one last chance.

See you tomorrow . . . probably.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Better Late Than Never?

Well, to be honest, I’m not sure about that. But as I spent the whole of January and part of February getting my end-of-year music lists sor...